Synth/Moog Recommendations? I'm a beginner.

In a Moog Mood? Here's a forum for discussion of general Moog topics.
Farfromahero12

Synth/Moog Recommendations? I'm a beginner.

Post by Farfromahero12 » Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:38 pm

Trying to do some home recording with a synth, and wondering what kind of synth/moog would be best to do music in the style of Daft Punk? Preferrably with a bank of preloaded tones as well as creatable tones. Nothing too pricey, please. Also, any beat generator/drum machine recommendations are greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance. :D

Demokid

Post by Demokid » Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:17 am

I would recommend you start with a virtual analog sizer… It is much easier to hook up to computers and is polyphonic and multitimbral. A used vintage synthesizer needs love and care… if it needs to be repaired it might coust a lot of money.

Check out the Alesis ION, it is a competent sizer the sounds really analog.
http://www.alesis.com/products/Ion/

Then if you like the sound and the way a analog sizer works you can buy a little monophonic analog sizer e.g. Moog Prodigy, Roland SH9/SH2/SH101, Sequential Circuits Pro~One. :lol:

Good luck!!

Kind regards
Demokid
Gearlist: Andromeda A6, Emu E4XT Ultra, Korg MS20, Minimoog Model D (incl.MIDI), Minimoog Voyager AE, Roland Jupiter-8 (MIDI), RE-301, Prophet~5 (Rev3.3 incl MIDI), Poly Evolver Keyboard, Pro~One, Prophet 08, Synthesizers.com Custom Studio-44

sir_dss

Post by sir_dss » Thu Apr 19, 2007 6:35 am

They (daft punk)also use a alot of samples. So go out there and listen to lots of music. Buy cheep records and make something terible good... All kinds too. Daft Punk even samples Barry Manalow!

Some cool cheap samplers are the Roland SP series. The 202 and the latest the 404 run on batteries and have built in mics.

And again go out and listen to all sorts of music.
http://www.myspace.com/sirdsssound
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Scott_Stone

doctorno

Post by doctorno » Sat Apr 21, 2007 2:13 pm